In conversation with: Nupur Saraswat

So happy to have Nupur Saraswat in Mumbai and performing for us! Nupur will be performing on the 23th of July at the The Artist Experience.  We asked her a few questions about her poetry journey and her inspirations. Come to the gig for a one-on-one conversation with her.

What does poetry mean to you? 

I believe in art with purpose. Poetry, or mostly spoken word poetry is my instrument in this call for revolution. I love to have discussions on the content more than the form at the end of my shows and so does the audience.

How long have you been writing? Tell us about your poetry journey.

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. It came naturally to me – the need to express and find solace in written words. But I have been performing spoken word only for 2 years now. The growth has been immense and palpable. People who have seen me through my journey are witness to how much I have experimented with this art form to make the stage as dynamic as possible.

What is your creative process? 

Stimulation. This is my answer to every time someone asks me for my remedy for writer’s block or about creative processes, I tell them to seek stimulation. Go on new adventures, take up extreme sports, fall in love, try a new drug (safely). Anything that breaks the monotony is a writer’s best friend.

Who/what inspires you? 

I find inspiration in people’s responses to my art. It keeps me motivated to create more – experiment more. Besides that, people’s stories and narrations inspire me. I am blessed to be able to travel so much with my work so I get the opportunities to meet new and exciting people regularly.

Advice for aspiring performance poets? 

Don’t mince words. Don’t be afraid to curse. Don’t let people tell you what the “norms” of this industry are. There are none. When you are an artist, your journey AND destinations are bound to look different from everyone else’s because it’s a highly creative field. There is no one way to be successful as a spoken word artist. Find your niche and don’t settle.

A poetry video or poem you absolutely recommend?

I try to find inspiration in contemporaries. So my contemporary who inspires me is the Singaporean poet – Deborah Emmanuel and all her creations.

Here’s a link to one of her Ted talks.

 

Nupur Saraswat is a passionate stage performer, who brings an electric energy on stage along with her bold words. She has directed and performed in a two-woman spoken word show called Two Sanskari Girls. Her volatile words and performance style has been praised by Javed Akhtar and Rahul Bose – both of whom she has shared a stage with in 2016. Along with performing for big stages like UN Women, TEDx, India Conversations, Under 25 Summit,and DPS schools, she also provides workshops on use of stage skills in the boardroom. Her vision is to merge the corporate and art space into one tantalizing business strategy. She also runs a collective where she curates artists (ask her about your artist needs at ‘Beasts of Bed and Battlefield’). At an age of 22, she is a lot of things – an environmental engineer, a writer, and a touring spoken word artist. But more than anything else, she is “that girl with a flower in her curly hair”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

