In conversation with Angelique Pinto

If you were at the WTS open mic in July, you would have met the beautiful, warm soul that is Angelique Pinto.

We asked her a few questions 🙂

What does poetry mean to you?
Poetry is expression. An affecting, outward expression of inward thoughts, feelings and emotions. It is a creation that showcases multiple facets of the author- both directly and indirectly. It is therapeutic, communicative and it is an art form. An art form that is taken to a new level when it is spoken and performed.

How long have you been writing?
I have been writing since I learned to hold a pencil!! My earliest (and most angsty) piece dates back to 2005 when I was 11 years old. In school, creative writing had always come naturally to me and had been one of the major grade-puller-uppers so it was only natural that I continue to explore my talents and branch out into poetry and prose from short stories and dialogues.

What is your creative process?
My creative process involves lots of thesaurus searches, swearing and caffeine. I love thesauri because it has made me realise that I didn’t actually have great diction, even when I thought I did. Perusing theasauri has opened up huge vaults of vocabulary that have allowed me to refine my style and communicate to the audience.  Looking up creative pieces from other artists also helps get the creativity unlocked

Who/what inspires you?
Life and how personal journeys relate to it inspire me. Meggie Royer is one of the writers whose work embodies exactly this and whose work inspires my own.

Advice for aspiring performance poets?
Get out there. Get out there and do your thing as much as you can because it is the only way you will learn new things. Sometimes you will get lucky and find an amazing safe space with wonderful people and sometimes you may not be so lucky. But it is all part of the experience and that is what counts.

A poetry video or poem you absolutely recommend?
Two – the first “On having a boyfriend with OCD” by Meggies Royer which was my introduction to poetry as an art form and “If I should have a daughter” by Sarah Kay which was my introduction to the spoken word scene.

_________________________________________________________________

Words Tell Stories is an open mic night for poets and lovers of poetry alike. Each poet will have 5 minutes to perform a piece in English/Hindi. There are 20 open mic slots and registration is on the spot.

The next WTS open mic will be held on 13th Aug 2016 at The Barking Deer, Lower Parel. Click here for more info.

Leave a Reply

